We continue looking at several interesting and beautiful churches located in the centre of Prague. Eight churches in Old Town and three rotundas had been highlighted in Prague Churches: Part I. Several New Town churches are highlighted in this post and more churches located in other areas in Prague are in Part III.
CHURCHES IN NEW TOWN
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Church of Our Lady of the Snows (Kostel Panny Marie Sněžné)
Holy
Roman Emperor Charles IV founded this church the day after his 2
September 1347 coronation as king of Bohemia. The original plans were to
build a Gothic church (which was to be 110 metres in length, with a 40 metre high vault and twin towers) to
rival even the Cathedral of St. Vitus and to serve as church for the
coronation of kings. These grandiose plans however never came to
fruition as the Hussite Wars broke out in the 15th century, even badly
damaging the tower in the north. About 1604, the Franciscans received
the church, which had been left in ruins, as a gift from Emperor Rudolf
II. From here on, repairs to the church in the Renaissance style were
carried out and finished in 1625. An early Baroque 29 metre high
pillared main altar was installed in 1651 and in the same decade, the
remaining buildings that make up the church structure we see today were
added. In 1900, a mosaic of Our Lady of the Snows was installed above
the church's main entrance. In the north section are ruins of the
destroyed north tower, a replica of a Gothic tympanum and, if you peek
beyond the ruin, people can be seen having a drink in the beer garden
right next to the church. Had the original plans
been executed, the church would today span all of the Jungmann Square,
which faces National Avenue and Adria Palace, and visible from ground
level. As it is now, the church is well hidden and easily bypassed if
one is not looking for it. It is today a Catholic church.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Cathedral Church of Sts. Cyril and Methodius (Katedrální Chrám Sv. Cyrila a Metoděje)

More information>
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Located
on Charles Square, the church was built in the second half of the 17th
century for the Jesuits and dedicated to the founder of the Order, St
Ignatius of Loyola. If the facade of the church looks familiar, it is
because the architect was Carlo Lurago, who also designed the Church of
St. Salvator which is prominently located near Charles Bridge. It is
another gem of early Baroque in Prague and possibly one of the largest
Jesuit complexes in Europe. The front facade is notable for its statues
of various saints and at the top on the tympanum is the statue of St.
Ignatius with an aureole (larger than the one of Jesus in the interior).
The statues were by sculptor Matěj Václav Jäckel, three of whose other
works are found on Charles Bridge (one is the statues of St Anne with a
young Virgin Mary). The adjoining building is a former Jesuit dormitory,
now a teaching hospital. Church service are still held here.
More information>______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Church of St. John of Nepomuk On The Rock (Kostel Sv. Jana Nepomuckého Na Skalce)

Slightly off the southern end of Charles Square is this small but unique Baroque church. Designed by Kilián Ignác
Dientzenhofer and built in the 1730s, the church is highly distinctive
in that its towers are tilted toward one another and the church nave is
octagonal in shape. The double staircase was added later in the 1780s.
The interior is decorated in the Rococo style and there is a gilded
statue, created by sculptor Jan Brokoff in 1682, which was the model
for the bronze statue of St. John of Nepomuk currently standing on
Charles Bridge. No centuries of dramatic or tragic events here - just a
beautiful, unique and compact church. Open for services only.
More information>
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Right
across the street from Church of St. John of Nepomuk on the Rock is a
monastery (and church) founded by Charles IV in 1347. It was to be a
Benedictine order using Slavonic liturgy, to unify Slavic people and as a
means to bridge schisms between Western and Eastern European churches.
To serve this function, a group of monks were brought in from an area in
present day Croatia. Charles IV donated to the monastery the Reims Gospel,
a text in Glagolitic alphabet and Cyrillic and said to be written in
part by St. Procopius. It soon became a centre of learning and art. The
future reformist preacher Jan Hus was a student here. The Hussites took
over in 1419 with the monastery becoming ultraquist and remained so
until late 16th century. In the 17th to 20th centuries, it was back to
the Catholic denomination until the Communists used it as a science
academy. There used to be two towers but these were destroyed by Allied
bombing in 1945 - their replacement made in the 1960s are the
distinctive cross spires seen today. Within the monastery, are a series
of Gothic murals depicting Biblical themes. There used to be 85 of these
murals but some have been destroyed or become faded or blurred.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Church of St. Stephen (Kostel Sv. Štepána)
![]() |
Photo source: www.waymarking. com |
Founded
by Charles IV in the mid 14th century, it was to be the second most
important church in New Town. By the early 1400s, the church was largely
completed. It received a major makeover in the 1870s, designed by Josef
Mocker. The tower has a Gothic high-tent roof with spires at the top
and on the corners, a design by Josef Mocker - which is a similar roof
redesign made on the Powder Tower in Old Town and on the two bridge
towers flanking Charles Bridge. Within the church are numerous Baroque
era paintings and a valuable Renaissance era painting of St. Stephen,
Virgin Mary and Jesus. Some curiosities include: Czech composer Bedřich Smetana was married at the church and the renown sculptor of Baroque statuary, Matyáš Bernard Braun was buried there (although the coffin could not be found). The Rotunda of St. Longinus is just nearby.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary and St. Charles the Great (Charlemagne) in Karlov
(Kostel Nanebevzetí Panny Marie a Sv. Karla Velikého na Karlově)
Another church
founded by Charles IV, in 1350 as part of an Augustinian monastery. The
church was modeled after the final resting place of Charlemagne, the
chapel at Aachen Cathedral in Germany. One of the intentions for
building this and other grand churches and buildings was to elevate
Prague's status to another level, it being the capital of the Holy Roman
Empire at the time. The original structure was Gothic and construction
was completed in the late Renaissance period. The marvelous cross-rib
vaulting in the central hexagonal nave forms a symmetrical star pattern
and was completed in 1575. In the 17th and 18th centuries, additions and
reconstructions were made, turning it into a predominantly Baroque
style church. It is today part of the Catholic church. The former
monastery building adjoining the church now houses a police museum. Tours of the church interior are available on Sunday afternoons.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Church of St. Apollinaire (Kostel Sv. Apolináře)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No comments:
Post a Comment